Booking Through Thursday – Disappointments

July 1, 2010 § 6 Comments

Name a book or author that you truly wanted to love but left you disappointed. (And, of course, explain why.)

John Steinbeck.

I want to love his work, I really do. And I still try.

But I go back, and back again, and back – yet again – and to no avail.

I don’t know if I’m reading his stuff in the wrong frame of mine. I know he’s considered a great author. But ever since struggling to get through Of Mice in Men in high school I just have not been able to shake it.

As James Gould Cozzens once said, “I can’t read ten pages of Steinbeck without throwing up.” I understand completely.

§ 6 Responses to Booking Through Thursday – Disappointments

  • I hated Of Mice and Men, too – even though I’ve mostly loved everything else I’ve read by Steinbeck. I think it gets taught in English classes mainly because it’s short!

    • Hannah says:

      I wouldn’t doubt it. I don’t think I could have taken anything longer from him honestly. I really feel bad that I can’t get into his stuff. But I will keep looking, hopefully one of these days I’ll finally find something of his to love.

  • Fiona says:

    I really like Steinbeck, but I think if you don’t like an author then you don’t like them – nothing to be helped, there’s a pile of other brilliant ones you will love. I might give an author a second try but rarely a third. I gave Neil Gaiman a second go – Stardust was an improvement on American Gods and I liked it okay enough but not enough to bother with him ever again. And I’m willing to give Marcus Zusak a second try after (shock horror) not liking The Book Thief.

    I really loved East of Eden – but it was pretty slow for the first 150 pages. I’m glad I didn’t give up on it as I had thought about doing several times because I ended up really loving it. I wouldn’t have predicted that when I first started reading it in a million years.

  • Suey says:

    Sad! 😦 Keep trying!!

  • Mish says:

    I really liked Of Mice and Men but couldn’t finish Grapes of Wrath. I’d like to try another Steinbeck just because, but he’s pretty low in the TBR pile.

  • Hannah says:

    I’m thinking that since I’ve got tons of other books that I’m looking forward to currently, it won’t hurt to put of Steinbeck a little longer. You never know, it may only take time before I randomly come across something of his that I end up loving.

    As long as I don’t have to read any Steinbeck in my English class this semester, I’ll be happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Booking Through Thursday – Disappointments at Among Stories.

meta

