Musing Mondays – Rescue

August 23, 2010 § 7 Comments

If your house was burning down –and you could SAFELY grab a book on your way outside to safety– what book would you make sure you ‘rescued’? Why?

This is actually a great question and something I really had to sit and think about. If my house were burning down and my dogs and family were safe only then would I think about books. But when I think about books I would want to rescue right off the bat I would say all of them. Because why would I want to waste those books? I wouldn’t. However, after letting reality set in I would say I would grab the few books on my shelf of favorites.

I don’t have a ton of all-time favorites so I could quite easily grab the in a single armful and be on my way. The reason I would chose those over any other books, because every book on my shelf of favorites has a good reason for being there. Even though I can always buy a new copy, I would rather save the old ones so that I can have a familiar book in my hands, remembering how I felt when I originally read it and called it a favorite. I guess there’s just that bit of sentimentality and so I’d go for those originals.

Any books that you can think of that you would want to save if you could?

§ 7 Responses to Musing Mondays – Rescue

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musing Mondays – Rescue at Among Stories.

meta

