Lorelei James and the Rough Riders

While I haven’t decided whether or not I want to wait until I’m all caught up to review each of the books in Lorelei James’s Rough Riders series, I do feel the need to talk about them. And this is why:

I read book 6 last Thursday when I was home sick as a dog (I needed something to cheer me up since I’m a miserable sick person). I don’t have book 7 yet. Not cool. Not in the least. I ordered book 7 online and am still waiting for it to be delivered, I have books 8 and 9 because they are e format only at this point. Now, I’m pretty much a stickler for reading a series in order, whether or not you need to. Several times over the last few days I’ve found myself back at the B&N website debating whether or not I want to purchase Shoulda Been A Cowboy (book 7) because after all ebooks are instantaneous, I don’t have to sit here and wait for Barnes and Noble to ship it out. So even though I spent 13 dollars on one copy I’m willing to spend another five, or six, or seven (or however much the e copy costs) because I’m too damn impatient to wait for a damn hard copy.

The other thing I’ve been considering is breaking my own rule. I have, on several occasions, opened my Barnes and Noble eReader and gone for book 8, saying fuck waiting, I’ll just go back later. But I’ve behaved and have not done anything drastic, as yet.

That’s saying something right?

So… the farm girl in me absolutely LOVES the Rough Riders series. What’s it about? I’m sure you’re wondering. And I’m anxious to tell you.

Can you say, erotic wild west romance? Lorelei James sure can. =] The Rough Riders series follows the McKay/West clan, notorious hard working Wyoming ranchers/rodeoers, at least mostly. Each book follows a different McKay or West on their path to relationship bliss. (I’ve always wanted to find a way to use that word, bliss) After the initial shock of all the C and K names, you figure out who’s who, and who belongs to who. That’s one of the reasons its good to read the books in order, there’s a lot of people. It’s a damn big family.

I’ll be blunt for this next part, there’s a lot of sex in these books, hence the erotic part of the whole wild west romance. If you’re offended or made uneasy by lots of different situations in (and out) of the bedroom, I’d suggest skiming those parts of the books. That being said, I’ve found that in each of the books I’ve read by her, the six Rough Riders books, the first Blacktop Cowboy book, and the little novella that comes after Branded as Trouble (book 6), each sexual encounter plays an important part. It may mark a new direction or the next big step of an existing relationship, perhaps its simply forming a deeper connection (there’s a lot of those), and no shit when I say you can actually feel the bonding, for lack of a better word.

Also, and I’m dead serious again here, the men in this book are the type of men you see in movies, TV, and literature that make you ‘swoon’ (I believe thats the correct present day term).

I’ll also stress this, hot sex is NOT the only thing that you’re going to find in these books. There are everyday problems such as unexpected pregnancies, single parenting, addiction, strained relationships, injuries of the mental and physical sort, as well as self-battles going on. I find it amazing that James is able to incorporate all of these real life things into her novels, all while still creating a heart stopping romance. It makes the stories so much more, and sometimes I swear that if I flew myself out to Wyoming and started driving I would find these people.

The bottom line: I love these damn books. I’ve read them in one sitting. It’s pretty ridiculous. So, assuming you like romance novels and the explicit nature of the book isn’t going to bother you (don’t say I didn’t warn you) go out and buy them! The reading order is below.

(I was gonna do pictures with it, but my computer wasn’t cooperating, sorry…)

1. Long Hard Ride – Colby and Channing
2. Rode Hard, Put Up Wet – Gemma and Cash, Carter and Macie
3. Cowgirl Up and Ride – Cord and AJ – This is my favorite thus far!
4. Tied Up, Tied Down – Kade and Skylar
5. Rough, Raw, and Ready – Chassie, Trevor, and Edgard
6. Branded as Trouble – Colt and India
7. Shoulda Been a Cowboy – Cam and Domini
8. All Jacked Up – Keely and Jack
9. Raising Kane – Kane and Ginger
10. Cowgirls Don’t Cry – Brandt and Jessie
11. Chasin’ Eight – Chase and Ava
12. Cowboy Casanova – To Be Released Dec 2011

So, go pick up a book or visit Lorelei James’s site to learn more!

3 thoughts on “Lorelei James and the Rough Riders

  1. Michelle July 1, 2011 / 9:58 am

    THANK YOU!!!!! God, my sister and I LOVE this series but we were reading the books completely backwards and it was overtly irritating!!! Thanks again!!!! 🙂

  2. daniella September 15, 2011 / 5:38 am

    Is chassie male or female??

    • Hannah September 15, 2011 / 1:41 pm

      Chassie is a female.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s