Musing Mondays: Recent Bookish Purchases

March 21, 2011 § 12 Comments

This week MizB wants to know:

What is the last book you bought? Was it for you? for someone else? Have you read it, yet?

I think it is important for me to start out this post by saying, my name is Hannah, and I have a problem with buying books. By ‘problem’ I do mean that after my last trip to the used bookstore, which was this past Friday no less, I went home with fifty-five new books. Fifty. Five. Now, I’ll admit that I paid about 100 bucks for all of those books and I’ve been known to spend more than that in one trip to Barnes & Noble only to leave with far less, but still…

As for what I got, well you would be here all day if I listed every single book, so I’ll hit some of the highlights.

In non-fiction:
Stiffed: The Betrayal of the American Male by Susan Faludi
Bachelor Girl: The Secret History of Single Women in the Twentieth Century by Betsy Israel
Human, All Too Human by Friedrich Nietzsche
Sex is Not a Natural Act and Other Essays by Lenore Tiefer
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft

In science fiction and fantasy:
The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide (all five novels and one short story) by Douglas Adams
Friday, Time Enough for Love, and The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag by Robert Heinlein
The Invisible Man, The Time Machine, and War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

In romance:
Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt
Passion Unleashed and Ecstasy Unveiled by Larissa Ione
Tell Me No Lies by Elizabeth Lowell
Love Me If You Dare by Carly Philips

I also added several new Zebra Horror books to my collection, among them:
Dark Silence and Little Brothers by Rick Hautala
Vampire Child and Victoria by Ruby Jean Jensen
Rockabilly Limbo by William Johnstone
Daddy’s Little Girl by Daniel Ransom

Other books of note:
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
Possession by A.S. Byatt
Blood Dreams and Blood Sins by Kay Hooper
24 Hours, Sleep No More, and The Devil’s Punchbowl by Greg Iles
The Book of Fate by Brad Meltzer

Okay, so that list is a bit longer than I intended, but at least you’re not left wondering, y’know?

What are your recent purchases?

§ 12 Responses to Musing Mondays: Recent Bookish Purchases

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musing Mondays: Recent Bookish Purchases at Among Stories.

meta

