Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Wanting to Start

TTT

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is all about those series we’ve been meaning to read, but just haven’t gotten to yet. Some of these have been on my list for years and others were added more recently – either way, here are ten book series I need to get going on.

  1. Vampire Chronicles by Ann Rice: I can’t count how many times I’ve been told to read these books. I’ve actually committed the sin of seeing the movies (which only make me want to read them MORE) before reading them.
  2. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin: My friend Brittany told me about these books about… five years ago. I have the first one, but sadly have yet to crack the cover.
  3. Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson: This is one of the more recent additions to my list. I had heard about it on Goodreads and then asked a friend if he had read it yet… He had and after much excited rambling he told me to read them, so I bought them.
  4. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams: When I started buying science fiction and fantasy books to start exploring the genre’s, one of the first books I got was the Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s got all five novels and a short story. I keep telling myself I’m going to start it and I keep not starting it. One day…
  5. Inspector Rebus by Ian Rankin: I saw a review of one of the books in this series on another blog a few years ago and literally bought Knots and Crosses, the first book in the series, in the next day or so. It’s been sitting on the shelves ever since.
  6. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead: I absolutely LOVED her Vampire Academy series, I devoured the first five books in two and a half days and then pre-ordered the last book about 5 months early. I was giddy as hell when I found out she was going to be writing a related series. Why haven’t I read this yet? I don’t know.
  7. The Hollows by Kim Harrison: This series was actually recommended to me by one of the booksellers that works at my local Barnes and Noble. I took his recommendation to heart and picked up the first book during my next trip. That was at least a year and a half ago. XD
  8. A Love Story (trilogy, I think) by Christopher Moore: Another series I saw a couple of reviews for and picked up copies during hauls to the book store. Another series I’ve yet to read.
  9. The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher: I’ve heard lots of good and bad about this series, but I got the first book for free as an e-book a long way back and I’m curious.
  10. The Philip Marlowe series by Raymond Chandler: I’ll admit it, if it weren’t for Humphrey Bogart, I might not even know that these books exist. Thanks to Bogie I do, and I’ve got them, and (someday) I’m going to read them.

So, that’s ten series I’d like to read. There are more – lots I’m sure, but these are the first ten that came to mind.

What series, if any, are you looking forward to? Any suggestions which of these I should bump to the top of the priority list? Do tell.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Wanting to Start

  1. angelicreader March 5, 2013 / 4:52 am

    There are about 5 on your list that I right now wish I could add to my list. Come to think of it if I could I would probably have about 50 series on my list.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:37 am

      It’s funny you say that, I swear I spent all day yesterday thinking up more series I could have added to this list, lol. There’s just something about a good series. =]

  2. Belle March 5, 2013 / 6:52 am

    I really want to read A Song of Ice and Fire too! I love the show.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:39 am

      I haven’t seen the show yet actually! I refuse to watch it until I read the books, especially since I heard they had to change some stuff around to make it television “appropriate…” which is saying something for HBO. Because of that, I’d rather read it as intended first, then check out the show. The anticipation has been killing me though.

  3. bookbelle0819 March 5, 2013 / 7:34 am

    I have to go check out the Marlowe series. I’ve never heard of it.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:41 am

      The Marlowe series is the pre-1960s era mysteries kind of stories. I’m very much looking forward to the day I finally dig in.

  4. Vicky Hooper March 5, 2013 / 11:58 am

    I’m really curious to start the Dresden series as well. It seems to be a bit of a marmite one – I’ve only ever read really amazing reviews or completely scathing ones. A Song of Ice and Fire is really good, hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:42 am

      Same here! Dresden seems to be a love or hate kind of thing so I’m looking forward to see how I end up liking it, lol.

  5. Allison March 5, 2013 / 3:56 pm

    Of the series you’ve mentioned, I’ve tried the Vampire Chronicles but found it too serious. Hitchhiker’s Guide still interests me, even if the movie didn’t appeal. Thanks to a writing class and my mother-in-law, Chandler is on my list of authors to read.

    Regards my own list of series to read, um, I’d like one day to finish reading The Twilight Series by Stephanie Myer. I’m also waiting to check out new books in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. At the moment, everything else I want to read are standalone books.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:44 am

      I honestly didn’t even know there was a Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy movie, either way I don’t think I’ve ever heard a bad word about the books. I’ve read all the Twilight books, but uhh… not my thing, lol. Hope you enjoy your reads!

  6. Lexxie March 5, 2013 / 4:02 pm

    Thanks for stopping by at (un)Conventional Bookviews earlier 🙂

    I have already read the first two books of the Vampire Chronicles, and need to continue that series! They are really good.

    Bloodlines and the Dresden files are among my favorite series, and I hope you’ll love them too when you get to them!

    Happy reading.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:46 am

      I’m so pumped for the Bloodlines books. I need to get on that like yesterday! XD It’s so hard to avoid the reviews of the books, but I want to be surprised so the sooner I read them the better.

  7. Cyberkitten March 5, 2013 / 4:38 pm

    Read the first 4 of the Anne Rice Vampire stuff. The first 3 were great. Not so good after that!

    Bought Game of Thrones (the book) a few days ago and Series 2 on DVD on Monday.

    Really like Hitchhikers. Read most of them 20-25 years ago.

    Saw some of the Dresden Files TV series. Looked interesting. Have added the first book to my Amazon Wish list.

    LOVE the Phillip Marlow books. If you read them and like them I’d also suggest the early William Gibson ‘Sprawl’ novels and short stories. Very much in the style of Chandler but in a future SF setting.

    • Hannah March 6, 2013 / 11:55 am

      I’m so curious about the Game of Thrones show! Gotta read those books already!

      Hitchhiker’s seems to be a classic love of basically everyone who’s read them. I’ve got high hopes, lol.

      The Dresden Files TV show is how I originally heard about the books! I remember liking the show, so I can only hope the same happens with the books.

      I’ve got a copy of Gibson’s Neuromancer somewhere on the shelves since a friend recommended it to me when I started buying sci-fi stuff. Gotta say, I’m looking forward to it even more now.

Leave a comment